Tuesday, June 30, 2009


hi again. domino records has just announced the record here. for all the vinyl junkies out there, the lp version will come with a free 7" with the songs 'hey folk singa!' and 'the moodist'.


Wednesday, June 24, 2009


'the real feel' has formally been announced here and here

so now... i can give you all some info on what's in store. it's released on matador and domino throughout the world on october 20th. hopefully, we'll be doing some shows around the release. yes, it's true 'the real feel' is the first record under the spiral moniker. but members of preston school all play on it. many guest musicians as well. here's some info below. stay tuned for more info and music soon.

spiral stairs: the real feel

true love
call the ceasefire
cold change
subiaco shuffle
wharf-hand blues

maltese t
a mighty mighty fall
stolen pills
the real feel
blood money

mixed by:
jon auer @ amberson mansion... seattle

recorded by:
joe reineke @ orbit audio... seattle
jon auer @ a dark unfinished basement and amberson mansion... seattle
patrick ryan @ newmarket studios... melbourne

album design by ashod simonian

played by:
spiral stairs - vocals, guitars, piano, keyboards
matthew zeek harris - bass
darius minwalla - drums, percussion
christopher lee heinrich - pedal steel, guitars, banjo, keyboard
ashod simonian - guitar, synth
ian moore - guitars, strings
jon auer - vocals, piano, mellotron, organ, percussion
daryl bradie - guitars, vocals
dan tulen - percussion
craig jackson - vocals
julian wu - guitar
drew pearse - synth
michele auer - vocals
gavin guss - piano
mary drew - 'ladies and gentlemen, spiral stairs'